Emerita Professor Diane Bell wins Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship

Congratulations to eminent anthropologist and author, Diane Bell, who has been awarded the Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship at Adelaide Writers Week. Details below. Professor Bell has written a number of times for Honest History (use our Search engine).

9 March 2023

2023 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship winner announced

We’re excited to announce that the 2023 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship winner was awarded yesterday at Adelaide Writers’ Week.

The winner is Diane Bell, award-winning author and anthropologist, who is writing a biography of the relationship between Ngarrindjeri woman Louisa Karpany, née Kontinyeri (c1840-1921) and George Mason (1811-1876), sub-Protector of Aborigines at Wellington, South Australia.

It was wonderful that Aunty Ellen Trevorrow and Aunty Margaret Long Allyne, great-great granddaughters of Louisa Karpany and George Mason, could join us for the announcement.

We are thrilled that in this, the year of a referendum on an Aboriginal Voice to Parliament, the Fellowship will be used to tell this important cross-cultural story.

This year the judges also gave a Highly Commended Award to Carolyn Dowley for initial archival research for a biography of Wongutha woman Sadie Canning, MBE, a member of the Stolen Generations, and Western Australia’s first Aboriginal nurse and matron.

The announcement followed the Hazel Rowley Memorial Lecture, which was a conversation between our 2017 Fellow Ann-Marie Priest and Kerryn Goldsworthy. Ann-Marie’s book My Tongue is My Own: A life of Gwen Harwood was published in 2022. The session was about ‘The risks and rewards of writing an unauthorised biography’.

Go to our website www.hazelrowley.com for more information on this announcement and fellowship activities.

Many thanks for your support. This is the 12th Hazel Rowley Fellowship and its continued success is due to the wonderful support from donors, biography lovers and enthusiastic event attenders. We’re also very appreciative of the work of Writers Victoria in administering the Fellowship on our behalf and to Australian Communities Foundation who do a great job of looking after our money.

All the best,
Della Rowley, Lynn Buchanan and Irene Tomaszewski

Click here for all items related to: ,